Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Hey guys! Today I will be doing a review of City of Bones, the first book in The Immortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

[Goodreads: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?…]

My mum gave me most of the series a while back, maybe 2-3 years ago? I wasn’t really into reading back then so they were casually thrown onto one of my shelves but as I started reading more I felt a stronger connection to read CoB.

That’s when my first attempt of reading it failed. I was young and didn’t really grab the whole concept of it. So once again I threw them onto my shelves. It wasn’t until I got into the whole ‘bookstagram’ thing, that I realised it was really popular and had so many reviews, so once again I tried again to read it, my try failed again. Finally yesterday I picked it up again and actually finished it.

Okay so for me to actually finish this book it took me three tries. I’m really into fantasy, both low and high, so after hearing all the hype about it I thought it would have been a fantastic book for me to read. After my first try more then six months ago I lost interest so the series had just been collecting dust on my shelves. Then around 3 months ago I tried again and I got around 130 pages in then I decided it wasn’t for me. Then yesterday I picked up from where I left of about 130 pages in and kept reading, I became so totally emerged into the story that I couldn’t stop reading.

I think the reason why I couldn’t originally finish it was because it was very slow getting to the main plot as I had watched the movie and knew what was going to happen but now I haven’t watched the movie in about 8 months to a year, so it enabled me to read along as I had forgotten the plot and it allowed me to be patient about the slowly forming plot.

The character development was alright to say but it wasn’t as deep as my usual books and I think the point of view contributes to the development aspect of the book. Although once I passed the halfway point I really was intrigued and my whole outlook of the book changed, the characters came more into focus and the whole fantasy aspect creeped deeper in and I just overall felt really connected with the whole narrative.

To say that I enjoyed the book would have only counted for this attempt of reading it, but I feel that once I start the next book i’ll totally forget my lack of interest and really love the series. So with that being said, I would rate this book about 4/5.

Thankyou so much for reading my review!